Who Was The Former Governor Of Arkansas?

Michael Dale Huckabee (born August 24, 1955) is an American politician, Baptist minister, political commentator, and bassist who served as the 44th governor of Arkansas from 1996 to 2007.

Who was Arkansas 34th governor?

No. Governor Party
34 Sid McMath Democratic
35 Francis Cherry Democratic
36 Orval Faubus

Who was the first governor of the state of Arkansas?

James Miller, Arkansas’s first territorial governor, was educated for the law but in 1808 entered the United States army as major and was made lieutenant-colonel in 1810.

Who became governor of Arkansas in 1901?

Jeff Davis (born Jefferson Davis; May 6, 1862 – January 3, 1913) was a Democratic politician who served as the 20th Governor of Arkansas from 1901 to 1907 and in the US Senate from 1907 to 1913. He took office as one of Arkansas’s first New South governors and proved to be one of the state’s most polarizing figures.


Who appointed James Miller?

James Miller
President Barack Obama
Preceded by Michèle Flournoy
Succeeded by Michael Lumpkin
Personal details

How many governors has there been in Arkansas?

The state has had 46 elected governors, as well as 11 acting governors who assumed powers and duties following the resignation or death of the governor. Before becoming a state, Arkansas Territory had four governors appointed to it by the president of the United States.

What was the first newspaper in Arkansas called?

The Arkansas Gazette, Arkansas’s first newspaper, was established in 1819, seventeen years before Arkansas became a state.

Which region of Arkansas held the most slaves?

The largest number of slaves were the property of the owners of large plantations in the state’s lowlands, particularly in the rich valley and delta lands along the state’s waterways.

What is the state fruit of Arkansas?

The South Arkansas Vine Ripe Pink Tomato ( that is a mouthful) became the state fruit and vegetable in 1987.

Who declared martial law in Arkansas?

<br /> In response to outrages attributed to the Ku Klux Klan, Governor Powell Clayton secretly organized a state militia and declared martial law in many of the counties in Arkansas. His militia consisted largely of the governor’s “State Guards,’ which were very unpopular and composed partly of Negroes and guerillas.

Is there a term limit for Arkansas governor?

Arkansas is one of the eight states and one territory of the United States that limit governors to two terms for life in their constitutions, along with California, Delaware, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, the Northern Mariana Islands, and Oklahoma.

What is the capital of arkansa?

Little Rock, city, capital of Arkansas, U.S. It is the seat of Pulaski county, on the Arkansas River in the foothills of the Ouachita Mountains in the central part of the state.

Who was the governor of Arkansas after James Miller?

James Miller
President James Monroe
Preceded by Robert Crittenden (acting)
Succeeded by George Izard
Personal details

Who was the first territorial governor in Oklahoma?

George W.

Steel was elected to Congress from 1883 to 1889 and his experience there may have led President Harrison to select him as the initial Governor of Oklahoma Territory.

See also  Who Is Singing In The Allstate Commercial?