What Is EPA Certification For HVAC?

The U.S. EPA (Environmental Protection Agency) offers certification (EPA 608 certification) to technicians who demonstrate knowledge of the multiple laws and rules that are involved in handling HVAC chemicals, such as the refrigerant found in air conditioners and heat pumps, R-22 and R-410A.

How much does it cost to get EPA certified?

Description Fee
Firm $550 $550
Tribal Firm $20 $20
Combined Renovation and Lead-based Paint Activities Firm Application $550 $550
Combined Renovation and Lead-based Paint Activities Tribal Firm Application $20 $20

What EPA certification do I need for HVAC?

EPA-Approved Section 608 Certification is needed to service building air conditioning and refrigeration systems.

What is it EPA certification?

This means that the United States Environmental Protection Agency has examined the work that the company does and has certified that they are meeting the EPA’s standards for protecting the environment.

What does it take to get EPA certified?

To receive an EPA 608 certification, a candidate must pass the Core section plus one of the technician types listed above. A passing score in a proctored setting is 70%. Core & Type I can be taken in a non-proctored setting, where the passing score is 84%.

See also  How Much Does Fresh Fish Cost?

Can I get EPA certified online?

Can You Take EPA 608 Online? Yes! Since the Type I Certification is open book, you can study and take your test online right now. If the appliances you are working on exceed five pounds of refrigerant, the test will need to be proctored.

Can I get my HVAC certification online?

Online HVAC Certificate Programs. Those who are interested in learning the fundamentals of HVAC systems—as well as current HVAC professionals interested in deepening their competencies in various subfields—have the option to gain HVAC training through online certificate programs.

What can you do with a universal EPA certification?

  • HVAC Service Technician.
  • HVAC Technician.
  • Maintenance Technician.
  • Heating, Air Conditioning, or Refrigeration Mechanic / Installer.
  • Maintenance Supervisor.
  • HVAC Refrigeration Technician.
  • Maintenance Technician, Apartments.

How much does it cost to get EPA 608 certified?

Date(s) Location Cost
At your convenience! At your convenience! Online Anytime $150.00 $150

How do I prepare for EPA 608?

  1. Use a Study Manual. …
  2. Talk With an HVAC Professional. …
  3. Make a Study Guide. …
  4. Take a Practice Test. …
  5. Watch Instructive Videos Online. …
  6. Get Your Certification through Mainstream Engineering.

What is the difference between EPA 608 and 609?

EPA regulations (40 CFR Part 82, Subpart F) under Section 608 of the Clean Air Act address the handling and recycling of refrigerants used in stationary refrigeration and air conditioning systems. … under Section 609 of the Clean Air Act specifically address the servicing of motor vehicle air conditioners (MVACs).

How much do EPA employees make?

Job Title Salary
Environmental Scientist salaries – 28 salaries reported $115,957/yr
Physical Scientist salaries – 27 salaries reported $92,624/yr
Biologist salaries – 19 salaries reported $100,299/yr
Orise Fellow salaries – 16 salaries reported $60,783/yr
See also  How Long Is The Hike To St Mary's Glacier?

How long does EPA certification last?

According to the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) website, “Section 608 Technician Certification credentials do not expire.” This means that after completing the licensing exam, technicians who service heating and air conditioning do not need to be re-certified at specified time intervals.

How do I get HVAC certified?

To qualify to apply for a license as a Master HVAC Contractor, you will need to have a bachelor’s degree in HVACR from an accredited college, as well as one year of HVAC experience, or a bachelor’s degree in a closely related profession with three years of experience in HVAC, or have completed a vocational training …

How many EPA certifications are there?

There are four types of EPA certification: Type I, Type II, TYPE III, and Universal Certification.

How many HVAC certifications are there?

  • Type I Certification. …
  • Type II Certification. …
  • Type III Certification. …
  • Universal Certification.